This is my fiftieth post in the eclectic paradise. I feel that it is time to look back at why I started this blog.

I started writing this blog back in September. Prior to that, I was all set to start my second year of university and, as part of that, edit the society magazine for my university’s feminist society. The problem was that I was becoming more and more disillusioned towards the role- my fellow publication officer had taken up a position within the student union, meaning that I was tasked with a lot of the work and while I was the editor of the magazine, the few submissions we did receive never came to me. In fact, the society appeared to do its best to ignore my role to the extent that my fellow publication officer came to me with a draft of the magazine, filled with submissions that I didn’t know we had received. If I was going to do something with that level of commitment, I wanted to do it on my terms, not as a footnote with a credit in print. That was just a cherry on the top of a mound of issues I had with the society itself and so I quit before term started and honestly, I haven’t looked back. I looked around for some way that I could potentially use the material I had written for the feminist magazine and I stumbled across an ad for WordPress while browsing Facebook. So I set up a blog, started writing and here we are, four months and fifty posts later.

But why start this blog? Well, one of my issues with the feminist society is that, while a feminist, I didn’t have very strong opinions on a whole lot of ‘appropriate’ issues. Sure, I could hammer out editorial after editorial but the stuff I was interested in was most certainly not what the rest of the exec was interested in. For those of you who read my blog regularly, you will know that my first post was an examination of female video game characters from 2015’s games. When I proposed this as my first editorial for the feminist society, I was mocked, with the president of the society even saying: “Well, if I had my way, I would just ban them all.” I knew that this wasn’t my place in the world. This also made me realise that I was tired. Tired of yelling my opinions into the void and not hearing a response or, suppressing my opinion because I did not want to become embroiled in a pointless internet war with people I had never met or to have it ridiculed and torn down.

So I started this blog. It gave me a way to write about politics, entertainment and social issues and if people were interested in what I had to say, they would read my blog. I have found the experience almost therapeutic- a way for me to express my opinions as when something in the world strikes me, or merely as a way of sharing my experiences of the world, with the world. I hope you enjoy my work as I certainly enjoying writing them.

Also, my blog is starting to take me places. As many of you know, I have begun to write for the Higher Education section of The Times and I got that position after linking this blog to the woman in charge of the student bloggers. She loved my style and so this blog helped secure that position for me. The feeling of achievement was unbelievable and I just want to thank everyone who reads this for giving me the motivation to keep going.

So. 50 blogs down, many many more to come. Stay tuned.

 

 

One thought on “Ben talks life: Why I started this blog

Leave a Reply

